How Much Communication is Too Much?

Blogs. Facebook. Twitter. Websites. Linked  In. My Space. Text Messaging. E-mail Updates. Phone Calls.  All these new-age methods of communicating leads me to ask the question – “How Much Communication is too Much Communication?”

On some days, I would say I average about 30 e-mails between my personal and professional e-mail accounts.  Not all of them are – well – substantive but each relay an important message from somewhere about something.  After e-mail, there are several people I follow on twitter, local blogs I read, news sites I visit to stay up on current events, and friends I enjoy connecting with on Facebook.  I need a few more hours in every day to manage my communication.

As public administrators, we are responsible for keeping up with a fast paced environment being knowledgeable about current events and informed about the community.  With all these messages being communicated, I’m interested to know how others manage.

Tell Us What You Think

