Mentorship

I recently had the honor of participating in a panel discussion regarding women and minorities in science and technology.  Our discussion revolved around how we can encourage women and minorities to enter science and technology careers, and how we can make the case to these groups early on in life.

We, the panelists all spoke to different perspectives on the topic, yet we all came to the same conclusions.  It is critical to implement mentor programs in schools and encourage existing practitioners to serve as role models.  I realized as we were talking, that I’ve had some great mentors when it came to technology.  Mostly my mentor/mentee relationships have been informal, but good relationships nonetheless.  In my public administration career, however, I don’t feel like I’ve really had the opportunity for a good mentor.

I’m not complaining.  I don’t feel like I am missing out.  I am curious, though:  Have you had a mentor in your public administration career?  How have they helped you?

Tell Us What You Think

