Downside of Technology in the Classroom

I teach undergraduate and graduate students in multiple environments: on-site, online and/or in a hybrid format. As such, I use a variety of digital support methodologies for teaching and learning such as whiteboards. I was shocked when I noticed  during on-site courses, students would use their cell phones to actually photograph and store work that I was putting on the whiteboard or PowerPoint presentations on the screen. I noticed this after students began to complain that I was not showing as many visuals as other professors.

This was a curious complaint to me. Then I discovered that when my back was turned, the cell phones were turned on the visual display. Students were taking digital snapshots of the visuals. Then, during exams, I discovered that many students had their phones in their laps.

When I caught this, I discovered that not only was my board and screen visuals on their phones, but also snapshots of key pages in the textbook. Digitally savvy students not only have devised a solution to storing information, but they also have discovered rather quickly how to cheat on exams when a professor is not watching what’s in their laps. I later discovered that my lectures were being recorded on the same seemingly benign technology.

How are students using technology in your classrooms?


Submitted by Michael Popejoy

Tell Us What You Think

